RSS Feed

Welcome to Whoopie Pie Wednesday

Posted on

Okay.  Obviously I know it’s Tuesday, but it just doesn’t have the same ring.  So here’s the story:  I’m from Maine and so are whoopie pies.  The End.  Don’t listen to anyone from Pennsylvania.  I will also say that since we share heritage that I have taken them for granted and assumed that everyone knows what they are.  Well, it’s not the first thing I’ve been wrong about.  Since I started making them this summer I have introduced them to all my neighbors, my entire office, Marnie, and several unwitting attorneys.  Surprisingly, none of those people have noticed them at Starbucks. 

I owe my delicious treats, and many mix and match versions, to Sarah Billingsley and Amy Treadwell, and their book that is simply titled Whoopie Pies.  This month’s installment — that’s right, I said this month.  It started out that I told my office that I would make them if I was ever off on a Wednesday, which happens about once every three weeks.  Well, then I went to France for a few weeks and a wedding in Boston immediately after, and my schedule got out of whack.  So now I have been making them for holidays only . . . we’ll see what happens in 2012.  As I was saying, this month’s combination is the Candy Striper, which is the Classic Chocolate Whoopie with the Mint Buttercream filling, and some crushed peppermint candies. 

btw – I found some amazing Chicago Metallic mini whoopie pans at Crate & Barrel.  They are the perfect size.

Eat Well and Savor

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

Leave a Reply

