RSS Feed

Jambalya with Shrimp and Ham and a Whole Lot More

Posted on

I started off the day with Southwestern Hash and Eggs from Ellie Krieger’s The Food You Crave.  This is how it started out:

 A can of black beans and some red-skinned potatoes with an egg on top:  a delicious way to begin the day.  Each bite was wonderful.  From one bite to the next I couldn’t decide which part was more flavorful.  I do wish there was  a second egg.  I will definitely repeat this one in the summer when the tomatoes are fresh. 

After a few errands I whipped up some Fleas Navidad Nibblers  from the Three Dog Bakery Cookbook for Phoebe.  I think they are supposed to be treats, but they’re pretty big so they get incorporated into her dinner.  Just FYI in case you pick up this book, don’t use the nutmeg.  I’ve read some reports that it is not good for dogs.

They may not look like much, but they sure do make her happy.

Then it was time for my dinner, as mentioned above, Jambalaya.  This may look a little familiar, but a touch more festive.

I can’t even begin to describe how delectable this was.  Another home run for EK.  I think it was actually the ham that was the best part, although there was a robust tomato flavor too.  Suffice it to say that I felt the food coma about five minutes after I was done.

One thing I love about EK is that she is not skimpy on her serving sizes.

Eat Well and Savor

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

Leave a Reply

