RSS Feed

My Fair Scones

Posted on

Yesterday Marnie and I went to see My Fair Lady, so I figured some tea and scones were in order.  well, actually, we skipped the tea. 

I am cleaning those mixes out of the cabinet and used a Stonewall Kitchen Orange and Cranberry Scone Mix.  They had a lovely little orange glaze, but that just wasn’t enough for me. 

I had some mascarpone leftover from Thanksgiving, so when I saw a recipe from Melissa d’Arabian in the December issue of food network magazine for White Chocolate-Mascarpone Butter, I just couldn’t resist.    Now, make no mistake, it may say white chocolate and mascarpone, but it’s still butter.  so if you think, as I did, that you can lick the beaters and the spatula as if it were frosting, think again. 

Speaking of MD, I don’t watch her show now.  But I did watch the season that she won the Next Food Network Star, so I believe I did see the first few episodes.  In one of which she made a Potato-Bacon Torte, which was easy and amazing!  It is one of the few recipes I repeat and it happens to be included in the same issue of the magazine.  I highly recommend it. 

So we had our scones and went to the matinée, which I expected to last two hours; however, it lasted three.  we were starving and in desperate need of wine, so we went over to SIP at Riverside.  The restaurant was closed for a private party, so we had to sit on the tavern side.  It was a little early and we were the only ones in there.  Now, we are not cheap diners, but it just didn’t feel like the place where you want to pay 20 bucks for a glass of wine. 

as a result, we headed over to Muss & Turner’s instead.  We didn’t have a reservation, so our choice was between sitting outside next to the heater or a nice cozy spot  at the bar.   we opted for the bar and it was an excellent choice.  We started off with some lovely reds and an order of fries and then we promptly changed our dinner orders to small salads. 

Eat Well and Savor

About Monica

A court reporter who likes to cook, and travel, and go to the spa, and read, and spoil her dog.

One response »

Leave a Reply

